



Open letter to the EU's heads of state and government by the CEOs of the European steel industry

Rebalancing the EU's industrial, energy and climate policies. Climate objectives, industrial growth and jobs can be compatible.

We the undersigned CEOs urge the heads of state and government to restore balance between industrial, energy, and, climate policies in order to preserve the competitiveness of the industries which are at the core of the European economy.

We all share the ambition to find an effective response to climate change. However, hopes for the early conclusion of a global agreement providing a level playing field have been dashed and, with the best will in the world, the likelihood of an agreement in 2015 creating a truly level playing field is remote.

In the absence of this, European industry urgently needs:

- Europe must not again impose on itself unilateral CO₂ reduction targets which no one else follows.
- In 2008 the measures adopted to protect the competitiveness of EU industry were time-limited and subject to a reduction factor. This must now be changed.
- The EU ETS must be modified to allow 100% free allowances for the most efficient installations, with no reduction factor both up to and beyond 2020, based on realistic benchmarks.
- The CO₂ cost passed through in electricity prices by the power sector must be fully offset (compensation in form of free allowances).
- Environmental and Energy Aid Guidelines must allow Member States to fully exempt energy intensive industries from national decarbonisation surcharges - such as taxes, levies, grid levies, and other costs relating to the support of low carbon generation - as long as competitors on global markets do not have to bear such costs.

There are solutions for a real win-win EU energy and climate policy without damaging Europe's manufacturing industries.

CEO's of the European Steel Industry

Wolfgang Eder Chairman and CEO Voestalpine AG Aditya Mittal CEO ArcelorMittal Europe Karl Köhler CEO and Managing Directeur Tata Steel

.../...



.../...

Cesare Riva CEO Riva Forni Elletrici

Enrico Bondi Extraordinary Commissioner ILVA S.p.A.

> Karlheinz Blessing CEO Dillinger Hütte

Marjan Mackosek Managing Director Store Steel d.o.o.

Peter van der Zanden CEO FNSteel BV

Rolf Höffken Member of the Board Management Hüttenwerke Krupp Mannesmann

Istvan Orova
Director
ISD Cokin Plant Ltd

Michel Hamy CEO Badische Stahlwerke GmbH

Peter van Hüllen CEO Georgsmarienhütte Holding GmbH

Martin Löwendick
CEO
Deutsche Edelstahlwerke GmbH

Vassilios Goumas CEO Hellenic Halyvourgia SA

Gunnar Lohmann-Hütte Managing Director Friedr. Lohmann GmbH

Clemens Iller President and Chairman Acciai Speciali Terni SpA

> Antonio Gozzi Administrateur Duferco Belgium

Sakari Tamminen President and CEO Rautaruukki Corporation

Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann CEO Salzgitter AG

Karlheinz Blessing CEO Saarstahl AG

Eneas Garcia Diniz CEO Companhia Siderurgia Nacional

Ingo Bender CEO Hagener Feinstahl Bender GmbH

Vladimir Sotak CEO Zeleziarne Podbrezova Slovakia

Ivan Kroo
Director
Dutrade Steels Products
Processing and Trade Co

Mika Seitovirta President and CEO Outokumpu Oyj

Philippe Darmayan CEO Aperam

Göran Ek Managing Director Fagersta Stainless AB

Viktor Dembitski Executive Director Promet Steel

Roberto Marzorati Vice-President Cogne Acciai Speciali

George Skindilias Vice-President and CEO Halyvourgiki Inc.

Giuseppe Pasini President Feralpi Siderurgica SpA Francesc Rubiralta Rubio Chairman and CEO Celsa Group

Andreas J. Goss Spokesman of the Executive Board ThyssenKrupp Steel Europe AG

> George Babcoke President U.S. Steel Kosice

Eneas Garcia Diniz Managing Director Stahlwerk Thüringen GmbH

Gunnar Kohlschein CEO BGH Edelstahlwerke GmbH

Imre Bartha
Director
Ozd Steelsworks Ltd

Bernardo Velazquez CEO Acerinox

Dmitrij Scuka
Chairman of the Board of Directors
Evraz Vitkovice Steel a.s.

Patrick Lamarque d'Arrouzat CEO Ugitech

> Jan Czudek CEO Trinecke Zelezarny

> Vasil Vasilev Manager Helios Metalurg Ltd

Sergiy Pronin
Director for Economics & Business Dev
Vorskla Steel Denmark A/S

Giovanni Arvedi President Acciaieria Arvedi SpA

Jerzy Kozicz President of the Management Board CMC Poland Sp. Z o.o.



...//...

Anton Chernykh
President of the Board and CEO
SIJ-Slovenska industrija jekla, d.d.

Emil Zhivkov Executive Director Stomana Industry SA

Markus Ritter
Managing Director
Stahl- und Walzwerk Marienhütte
GmbH

Carlos Alvarez Commercial Director Aceros Inoxidables Olarra, S.A.

> Evgeny Tankhilevich CEO ISD Dunaferr

Jose Enrique Freire Arteta CEO Siderurgia Nacional SA

Tom Erixon
President and CEO
Ovako

Martin Lindqvist President and CEO SSAB AB

Luca Zanotti
Vice-President and Managing
Director
TenarisDalmine

Dirk Mahnke CEO Rohrwerk Maxhütte GmbH Nikolaos Mariou General Manager Sidenor SA

Max Aicher President and CEO Max Aicher Group

Horacio Malfatto CEO NLMK Europe

Petra Einarsson CEO Sandvik MaterialsTechnology